Minimum Wage

​​California’s minimum wage is $10.00 per hour and the federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. When state and federal law differ, you must comply with the more restrictive requirement.​ California state minimum wage is higher, so that is the rate that you must pay employees in California.

  • California’s minimum wage is $10 per hour, effective January 1, 2016. Legislation passed in April 2016 will gradually increase the minimum wage in California to $15 per hour by 2022. There is a one year implementation delay for companies employing 25 or fewer people.​
  • Read about 2016 minimum wage increases and local ordinances.

Sign In
Not a​ Member? Try HRCalifornia free for 15 days. ​​​