California's Minimum Wage Hike Brings Many Changes - Press

California Minimum Wage Hike

California's Minimum Wage Hike Brings Many Changes

In early April 2016, Governor Brown signed SB 3, a bill that will increase the minimum wage in California to $15 per hour by 2022. The governor's action makes California the first state in the nation to commit to raising the minimum wage to $15 per hour statewide.

Large businesses with 26 or more employees will begin complying in 2017 and will reach $15 per hour in 2022. Small businesses with 25 or fewer employees will not be required to begin the scheduled increases until 2018 and will have until 2023 to reach the $15-per-hour rate.

Employers need to prepare for the minimum wage increase and examine other pay practices that might be affected by the increase.

Download CalChamber's free white paper to learn more, including:

  • Scheduled increases to the minimum wage
  • Affected pay practices
  • Classifying employees
  • Posters and notices
  • Best practices

About CalChamber

CalChamber is the largest, broad-based business advocate, working at the state and federal levels to influence government actions affecting all California business. As a not-for-profit, we leverage our front-line knowledge of laws and regulations to provide affordable, easy-to-use compliance products and services.

Free White Paper

Free HR E-Newsletter

This biweekly e-newsletter reports on the latest labor laws and how they could affect your company. Subscribe >